Why MELHS

An encouraging, Christ-centered environment, uniquely focused curriculum, caring faculty and staff, and numerous opportunities for students to challenge their abilities are just some of what sets us apart. Our highly educated faculty comes with years of experience and a variety of advanced degrees. With a 15:1 student-teacher ratio, they work closely with students to foster academic advancement and integrity in a respectful, Christian environment.

Advanced courses are available in all the major subject areas, including dual-credit courses offered through Lewis and Clark Community College. Independent studies allow students to tailor their college preparatory education to best suit their needs, and ACT results well above the national average show a consistent positive outcome for our graduates.

Over 90 percent of our seniors move on to college, well-prepared to further their education and pursue their goals and dreams. We thank God for the dozens of our students who annually choose to go to one of our Concordia University campuses to prepare for church work.

We are justifiably proud of the academic achievements of the students at Metro-East Lutheran High School, both past and present. Whatever the vocational calling or the university chosen, we believe our students are prepared both academically and in the knowledge of their faith as they go out into the world.

Discipleship . Respect . Integrity . Loyalty

LEARN MORE ABOUT OUR EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITIES AND THE PEOPLE WHO PROVIDE THEM! 

AdvancED / North Central Assoc. Commission on Accreditation and School Improvement

Accredited by National Lutheran School Accreditation

Students perform over 2,200 hours of community service/year

ATHLETICS

Students have over 20 athletic opportunities with year-round conditioning and competition. Find out more about how our opportunities enhance leadership skills, encourage teamwork, and foster personal improvement.

ACTIVITIES

From drama and music to engineering, government and life skills, our student activities cover a variety of interests. Learn more about the many activities that shape our students' character, skills and future plans.

Our graduates have been accepted to universities across the country!

University of Illinois, Saint Louis University, Webster University, Washington University, Millikin University, McKendree University, Greenville College, Maryville University, Bradley University, Butler University, University of Notre Dame, Pepperdine University, St. Louis College of Pharmacy, Valparaiso University, Western Kentucky University, Illinois State University, Clemson University, Truman State University, Vanderbilt University, University of Illinois Chicago, Southeast Missouri State, Texas A&M University, Murray State University, Brown University, University of Alabama, University of Missouri-Columbia, Missouri University of Science and Technology, Concordia University Chicago, Concordia University Wisconsin, Concordia University Nebraska, Concordia University Irvine, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, Southern Illinois University Carbondale, and many more…

Faculty

Krause

Dr. Jay Krause

Principal

jay.krause@melhs.org . 618.656.3039 x 130

Batty

Mr. Jason Batty

Athletic Director, PE & Drivers Ed. Teacher, Boys Volleyball Coach

jason.batty@melhs.org . 618.656.3039 x 134

Kottwitz

Mrs. Chris Kottwitz

School Secretary

chris.kottwitz@melhs.org . 618.656.3039 x 100

An_Mueller

Mrs. Angela Mueller

Marketing & Admissions Director

angela.mueller@melhs.org . 618.656.3315

Stock

Mr. Rob Stock

Assistant Principal, Academic Counselor, Girls Basketball Coach

rob.stock@melhs.org . 618.656.3039 x 131

Stewart

Mrs. Amy Stewart

Office Manager, Admin. Asst. to Principal

amy.stewart@melhs.org . 618.656.3039 x 132

L Logo Icon

Mr. Joel Sutton

Maintenance Manager

618.656.0043

Covarubias

Mrs. Shanna Covarrubias

Spanish Teacher, Spanish Club Advisor, Scholar Bowl Coach

shanna.covarrubias@melhs.org . 618.656.3039 x 116

Giordano

Mr. Jon Giordano

Theology Chair, Volleyball Coach, Asst. Bowling Coach

jon.giordano@melhs.org . 618.656.3039 x 103

Keily-vann

Mrs. Katie Keily-Vann

English, Communications & Journalism Teacher

katie.keily-vann@melhs.org . 618.656.3039 x 113

Lorenz

Mr. Tim Lorenz

Math Dept. Chair, Technology Dir.

tim.lorenz@melhs.org . 618.656.3039 x 108

Morrison

Mrs. Laura Morrison

English Dept. Chair, Student Council Advisor

laura.wilson@melhs.org . 618.656.3039 x 112

Moldenhauer

Mr. David Moldenhauer

Math & Physics Teacher, FCA Advisor, Board Game Club Advisor

david.moldenhauer@melhs.org . 618.656.3039 x 107

Muther

Mr. Tim Muther

Science Teacher, Football & Wrestling Coach

tim.muther@melhs.org . 618.656.3039 x 106

Rempfer

Mr. Joel Rempfer

Theology & Social Studies Teacher, Boys JV Basketball Coach, Asst. Baseball Coach

joel.rempfer@melhs.org . 618.656.3039 x 105

Scnare

Mr. Zach Schnare

Fine Arts Chair, Drama Teacher, Theatre Manager

zach.schnare@melhs.org . 618.656.3039 x 126

Shimkus

Mrs. Karen Shimkus

Music Teacher

karen.shimkus@melhs.org . 618.656.3039 x 138

theisen-claxton

Mrs. Hope Theisen-Claxton

English Teacher, Creative Writing Club Advisor

hope.tc@melhs.org . 618.656.3039 x 117

Thompson

Ruth Thompson

History & PE Teacher, CC & Girls Basketball Coach

ruth.thompson@melhs.org . 618.656.3039 x 114

Wudtke

Mrs. Deb Wudtke

Biology Teacher, NHS Advisor

deb.wudtke@melhs.org . 618.656.3039 x 118